Benjamin Britten Academy of Music & Mathematics

An 11-18 co-educational day school and Centre of Excellence in Mathematics

Coronavirus (COVID-19)

School Council members on the Waveney Youth Council Committee

On Tuesday 29th November, we welcomed members from the Waveney District Council along with staff and students from Ormiston Denes Academy, Pakefield High School, East Point Academy, Sir John Leman High School and Lowestoft Sixth Form College to the Waveney Youth Council AGM hosted in the school Library. Once a year, the WYC committee positions are opened up for new applicants who wish to take on more responsibility in the council and following a short statement from each applicant, votes are cast by the rest of the scholars present and new members are co-opted on to the committee.

We are delighted to announce that the following positions were bestowed upon four students from Benjamin Britten Academy:

Communications Officer- Jenson Read (Year 9)

Secretaries- Zara Williams and Cameron Hoath (Year 9)

Liaison Officer- Thomas Huggins (Year 10)

A further 'well done' is extended to Thomas Huggins who delivered a very informative and articulate presentation on the Special Educational Needs provisions currently in place at our school for one of the meeting's agenda items.